A History Teacher’s Favorite Eduprotocols

Before the school year began, I created 2 goals for myself: 1) Incorporate more PBL and choice, 2) Incorporate more Eduprotocols. I’ll save PBL for another blog as my bright spot this year has been found with Eduprotocols. When I first received my Eduprotocols book, I assumed it was for ELA and Math teachers. As a result, I set it aside and didn’t see the value of these lesson frames.

I’ll admit it, I’ve been stuck on an island of lesson planning, week to week, barely keeping my head above water and piecing lessons together. Let’s face it, when lessons are pieced together, it’s really not that great or beneficial for anyone involved. But, Eduprotocols has alleviated this lesson planning problem for me.

The idea behind these protocols is simple – lesson frames that can be used week to week, that incorporate the 4 C’s, that are student centered, and provide a 5th C for students – consistency. As a history teacher, here are some of my favorite Eduprotocols:

  1. Cyber-sandwich – I love the Cyber-sandwich for student collaboration, communication, creation and critical thinking as students compare/contrast 2 ideas or topics. A Google slidedeck is created and shared with students. The slidedeck should contain everything the students need: links to resources, questions, etc.  Students have 10-15 minutes to read and collect information. After time is called, they share and compare/contrast their topics. This year I have used this for: Athens/Sparta, European Exploration, Colonial Regions, the French and Indian War, and Federalists/Anti-Federalists – click here. After the students collect information, discuss and share, I like to have them create infographics, maps, or storyboards.
  2. Mini-Report – the mini-report is great for student communication, creating, and critical thinking. Students are provided with a topic, 2 sources, and they collect facts in an organizer. After 15-20 minutes, they review the facts and construct 2-3 paragraphs about their given topic. It’s a must to provide meaningful feedback as students are collecting facts. I try to focus them on collecting useful and important facts. After the paragraphs are written, I like to have students use their information to create a storyboard, Flipgrid, or a Lego creation. Click here for my example.
  3. Iron-Chef I love the Iron Chef protocol for student collaboration, communication, creativity, and critical thinking. When I started this last year, I was too ambitious and the students got lost. The first time you try Iron Chef, start with something light. This year I started with a quick reading on John Locke and it worked wonderfully. Students were put into pairs, and a Google slidedeck was shared. Based on the topic, students are given 15-30 minutes to read and create their slidedeck. After time is called, I like to have students use Screencastify to create a presentation. Finally, we share presentation, view them, and offer feedback. Do this protocol on a weekly basis – students love it and it’s to the point now where they get started on their own when they know it’s Iron Chef time. Click here for my example.

I run these protocols on a weekly basis in my classroom. It’s a great way to ease planning and give students repetition with content and technology. Using these protocols on a weekly basis also allows me to focus on, and show growth with writing and presentations. I encourage anyone reading this to get the book, Eduprotocols, written by Marlena Hebern and Jon Corippo and try them out in your classroom.